All Of Me and My Journey…

Authentically Me through Freedom, Authenticity, Gratitude, and Love

Day Six – The DVR and Feminism #write31days

I often find myself to busy to sit down and enjoy the shows I love at the time they air. My DVR is my best friend. I am able to record my shows and watch them throughout the week when I find time. I have noticed that within those shows, there are some very powerful women.

Carrie Mathison in Homeland
Meredith and Miranda in Grey’s
Krisitna Braverman in Parenthood
Annalise Keating in How to Get Away with Murder
Olivia Pope in Scandal
Elizabeth Keen in The Blacklist
Olivia Benson in Law & Order: SVU
Crystal McGuire in Legends
Elizabeth McCord in Madame Secretary
……just to name a few.

I can clearly remember before 2000 when women didn’t have many of these types of roles. Now while I’m happy to see women in leading roles, the on screen percentage is no more than 42% (http://womenintvfilm.sdsu.edu/research.html). I’m sure the actual on-screen time between men actors and women actors differs tremendously. It only makes sense right (….enter sarcastic laugh here…).  While the increase may seem impressive to some, it is not enough. Hence once of the needs we still need feminism.

Along, with fighting for equal on-screen time and increased women actors in leading roles, there are other pressing issues that also needs attention such as: female genital mutilation, rape, child brides, criminalized pregnancy, infanticide, honor killings, employment law, restricted freedom, forced prostitution, and disfigurement.

WE NEED FEMINISM!!!

#girlsandwomenrock #girlpower #feminismneeded

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

