All Of Me and My Journey…

Authentically Me through Freedom, Authenticity, Gratitude, and Love

Day One – Feminism #write31days

October 1, 2014

So I have decided to take part in the 31 day writing challenge. As I was pondering on what to write about a topic keep tapping the outermost part of my cranium. Now oddly enough, I have never thought of myself as one. I have always been extremely passionate about the justice of all people, specifically those of color….and it is still one of the most influential topics for how I live my life. However, I am a woman. I embrace me as a woman and expect to be treated fairly, as a woman. When I think about all of the influences in my life, the majority of them are women. My closest friends are women. My daughters will grow up to be women. My mother is a woman. I do a lot of research and I always look to see how many women and people of color are involved. So without saying much more, for the next 30 days I will be writing about feminism.

 

fem·i·nism

/ˈfeməˌnizəm/

noun

the advocacy of women’s rights on the grounds of political, social, and economic equality to men.

 

Why shouldn’t I advocate for the rights of myself and other women? I am a woman, right? Over the past few months, I have been intentionally quiet on a few issues, just observing and reading. It is unbelievable how many women (and men) don’t see the need for all women to be treated fairly. Or are hypocrites or picky about what issues are important to women. We all come a woman so why wouldn’t we want women to be treated equal to men. To be paid the same wages as men. To be afforded the same opportunities as men. Not to be looked down upon or stereotyped into certain box. I’m appalled at some of the comments that I have heard and read.

You should be ashamed!!!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

